Well, the big night is coming around very soon. On Saturday it’s the stand-up comedy course showcase at the MAC, where I – along with 14 other people from the course – will be going on stage for the first time. It’s been a testing few months and, to be honest, I’ll be glad to get it over with.

I’m aware of around a dozen people coming to see me perform and it will be good to have their support, although I’m not sure how I feel about having so many people there. I did my last ‘proper’ practice at the class on Monday and fluffed my lines in two places, which made me freeze completely. That wasn’t a good feeling and I’m pretty scared of that happening on the night. Perhaps it’s good that it happened then, though, as I do at least have some sort of contingency plan to buy me some time if it all goes horribly wrong. It did make me feel pretty flat afterwards, although I was heartened by the fact that the end of my routine got a seemingly good response.

I really hope it goes well, because I don’t want to fail in front of people I know and also I want to prove to myself that – even though it’s unlikely to appear particularly slick or professional – I can do this. I’ve made no secret of the fact that I’m under no illusions about my stand-up capabilities – I’m not a natural, and I really don’t think it’s for me. I’m not going to rule out ever doing it again, depending on how it goes this weekend, but equally I will be happier writing than setting foot on stage.

I’d like to think, though, that what I’ve learned from the course has been of far more value to me than whether or not I could ever be a stand-up. It’s all about personal achievement now, and there’s just a few more steps to go.

