This week we had local stand-up Karen Bayley sitting in one the session to give us advice and share her experiences of life as a comedian doing gigs around the country. It was interesting listening to her talking about her writing processes, and the number of different notepads she keeps for different things. We were also joined by Joe Lycett towards the end of the session, who I’m going to see at Popcorn Comedy tonight.

I really enjoyed the practice performances by Andrew and Rob – I was unwittingly part of the latter’s set as part of the audience participation for testing his unique ‘invention’. I still find myself watching other people and think their stuff is much better than mine. This is probably a confidence thing, although my material does feel a little pedestrian compared with prop-featuring sets like Rob’s, and detailed storytelling like Andrew’s, though he clearly has a very interesting past to draw on.

I need to get to work on some new material and tightening up other bits very soon – it’s only six weeks until the showcase. I think I’ll probably be ok going on the stage now, although when you add in the microphone and an audience it may be a different story (nerves ahoy!), but my worry is still remembering stuff. I really need to get my act honed quickly so I can learn it as soon as possible and get comfortable with saying it, so I can think about how to perform it.

